Black Lips Underneath The Rainbow Details

Black Lips Underneath The Rainbow Details

The last Black Lips album was 2011’s Arabia Mountain, which found them working with two very different producers, retro pop and hip-hop specialist Mark Ronson and Deerhunter guitarist Lockett Pundt. That producer roulette keeps on spinning; as Rolling Stone reports, next year they’ll be back with their seventh LP, Underneath The Rainbow, half of which was produced by Black Keys drummer Patrick Carney and all of which allegedly bears the influence of Southern rock and country. Bassist Jared Swilley described the new album to RS as “pretty traditional” and “roots music,” which is in keeping with the classic country cover they released this year. There’s also an ode to Lynyrd Skynyrd and growing up in Atlanta called “Boys In The Wood,” which Swilley says is about “doing bathtub drugs and drinking bathtub gin.” Regarding “Smiling,” which is about his visit to jail last year, Swilley explains:

[That song is] about how going to jail sucks, because the florescent lights make it hard to sleep, and you have to share five cigarettes with ten other guys all ducking in a corner smoking cigarettes, [and] how you have to call your mom to bail you out. I wanted to write a song about Gucci Mane but I ended up writing it about myself.

Underneath The Rainbow is out 3/18/14 via Vice. Here’s the tracklist:

01 “Drive By Buddy”
02 “Smiling”
03 “Make You Mine”
04 “Funny”
05 “Dorner Party”
06 “Justice After All”
07 “Boys in the Wood”
08 “Waiting”
09 “Do the Vibrate”
10 “I Don’t Wanna Go Home”
11 “Dandelion Dust”
12 “Dog Years”

more from News

Please disable your adblocker or subscribe to ad-free membership to view this article.

Already a VIP? Sign in.