Sufjan Stevens To Cover Arthur Russell For Red Hot Comp

A few years ago we heard about This Is How We Walk On The Moon, a crowdfunded Arthur Russell tribute from the Red Hot Organization. Robyn, Laurel Halo, Hot Chip, Washed Out, and Twin Shadow were all announced as participants. While the project was not successfully funded on Kickstarter, it looks like it’s still going forward and, according to a post on his site, Sufjan Stevens will be contributing as well. The compilation would follow recent Red Hot titles like Red Hot + Fela and Dark Was The Night (to which Stevens also contributed). A release date or final tracklist for Walk On The Moon has not been announced, but you can check out a partial tracklist (minus Stevens) via that Kickstarter page below.

Twin Shadow – “Another Thought”
Washed Out – “Calling Out of Context”
José González – “This Is How We Walk On the Moon”
Laurel Halo – “Platform On The Ocean”
Robyn – “Let’s Go Swimming” (Walter Gibbons Mix)
Glen Hansard – “I Couldn’t Say It To Your Face”
Javelin – “Love Is Overtaking Me”
Hot Chip – TBD
Nico Muhly + Owen Pallett – “That’s Us/Wild Combination”
Sandro Perri – “Being It”
The Revival Hour – “Hiding Your Present From You”
Will Sheff (Okkervil River) – “Love Comes Back”
Sam Amidon – “Lucky Cloud”
Ólöf Arnalds – “Get Around To It”
Devendra Banhart – “Losing My Taste For the Nightlife”
Dan Boeckner (Handsome Furs/Wolf Parade) – “Our Last Night Together”
Chad VanGaalen – “You Can Make Me Feel Bad”
Scissor Sisters – TBD
Oh Mercy – “Planted A Thought”
Rubblebucket – “Eli”
Thao with The Get Down Stay Down – “Nobody Wants A Lonely Heart”

Read our 20th anniversary feature on Red Hot’s iconic ’90s compilation No Alternative here.