Owen Pallett Announces New Album In Conflict; Watch A Trailer

Owen Pallett, the Canadian violin virtuoso and indie-pop iconoclast, is a newly-minted Oscar nominee thanks for the score for Spike Jonze’s Her, which he co-wrote with Arcade Fire’s Will Butler. And for further evidence that Pallett is coming up in the world, check the list of contributors to his new solo album In Conflict. Brian Eno and the Czech FILMharmonic Orchestra are on the list of guests on the just-announced album, which Pallett will release this spring. In a press release, he says, “The record is meant to approach ‘insanity’ in a positive way. Depression, addiction, gender trouble, and the creative state are presented as positive, loveable, empathetic ways of being. Not preferable, per se, but all as equal, valid positions that we experience, which make us human.” Below, check out the album’s tracklist and a trailer video that has about two minutes of new music.

01 “I Am Not Afraid”
02 “In Conflict”
03 “On A Path”
04 “Song For Five & Six”
05 “The Secret Seven”
06 “Chorale”
07 “The Passions”
08 “The Sky Behind The Flag”
09 “—> (1)”
10 “The Riverbed”
11 “Infernal Fantasy”
12 “Soldiers Rock”
13 “—> (2)”

In Conflict is out 5/13 on Domino.

Tags: Owen Pallett