Hamilton Leithauser – “Alexandra” (Feat. Rostam Batmanglij) Video

Just last night, Hamilton Leithauser, the (former?) frontman of the Walkmen and the owner of one of indie rock’s greatest voices, announced the impending release of Black Hours, his debut solo album. And now he’s already shared the video for “Alexandra,” the album’s first single. Vampire Weekend’s Rostam Batmanglij produced and co-wrote the song, and he shows up in the video, honking on a harmonica. Musically, the song is way jauntier than anything we’ve heard Leithauser sing before, and it’ll take some mental adjustment to get used to hearing him on songs like this. But director Tristan Patterson’s video is an entirely badass swagged-out affair, starring a tuxedoed Leithauser singing while surrounded with dancers. Watch it and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “5 AM”
02 “The Silent Orchestra”
03 “Alexandra”
04 “11 O’Clock Friday Night”
05 “St Mary’s County”
06 “Self Pity”
07 “I Retired”
08 “I Don’t Need Anyone”
09 “Bless Your Heart”
10 “The Smallest Splinter”
11 “Waltz” *
12 “In Our Time (I’ll Always Love You)” *
13 “Utrecht” *
14 “I’ll Never Love Again” *

* Deluxe Edition bonus track
(via Pitchfork)

Black Hours is out 5/6 on Ribbon Music, and “Alexandra” will be out as a 7″ single, featuring non-album B-side “In The Shallows,” on Record Store Day.