Parquet Courts – “Sunbathing Animal”

Late in 2012, the New York-via-Texas band Parquet Courts released their debut album Light Up Gold, a burst of smart, sardonic, punchy postpunk that turned them into one of indie’s greatest prospects when What’s Your Rupture? gave the LP a wider release early last year. A few months ago, they followed it up with their Tally All The Things That You Broke EP. And now they’ve announced plans for Sunbathing Animal, their sophomore album. The title track previously existed only as a sheet-music single, but they’ve now shared the studio version, and it’s a dizzy punk-rock rush with some delightfully squalid guitar solos. It’s a total blast of a song, and you can hear it and check out the album’s tracklist below.

01 “Bodies”
02 “Black And White”
03 “Dear Ramona”
04 “What Color Is Blood”
05 “Vienna II”
06 “Always Back In Town”
07 “She’s Rollin”
08 “Sunbathing Animal”
09 “Up All Night”
10 “Instant Disassembly”
11 “Duckin And Dodgin”
12 “Raw Milk”
13 “Into The Garden”
(via Pitchfork)

Sunbathing Animal is out 6/3 on What’s Your Rupture/Mom + Pop.