Mastodon Once More ‘Round The Sun Details

A couple of weeks ago, we posted “High Road,” a blistering and enormous new song from the Atlanta metal warriors Mastodon. That was our first taste of Once More ‘Round The Sun, the band’s forthcoming album, and now the band has officially announced that album’s impending release. And before we say anything more about it, let’s all take a moment to collectively appreciate that cover art. I mean, goddam. Anyway. The band recorded the album with producer Nick Raskulinecz, most recently heard adding kinda-unwelcome beefed-up polish to the Hold Steady’s new album Teeth Dreams. Neurosis frontman and longtime Mastodon buddy Scott Kelly guests on one song. Mastodon singer/bassist Troy Sanders describes the album as both “pure, authentic Mastodon” and “a large slab of granite,” both of which are promising descriptors. Below, check out the tracklist.

01 “Tread Lightly”
02 “The Motherload”
03 “High Road”
04 “Once More ‘Round The Sun”
05 “Chimes At Midnight”
06 “Asleep In The Deep”
07 “Feast Your Eyes”
08 “Aunt Lisa”
09 “Ember City”
10 “Halloween”
11 “Diamond In The Witch House”

Once More ‘Round The Sun is out 6/24 on Reprise.

Tags: Mastodon