Kimbra Announces The Golden Echo Feat. Flying Lotus, Dave Longstreth, John Legend, Matt Bellamy

Kimbra Announces The Golden Echo Feat. Flying Lotus, Dave Longstreth, John Legend, Matt Bellamy

The Golden Echo will be Kimbra Lee Johnson’s second album, but if you knew about the New Zealand singer before this year, it’s probably from her contribution to Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used To Know.” That song was inescapable in 2012 and deservedly won the Record Of The Year Grammy last year. The strength of Kimbra’s new single “90s Music” should raise her profile considerably. It’s a winking electro-pop love song that crams a lot of cool ideas — a spoken refrain that recalls a radio station ID, a heavily manipulated synth motif that mimics a dial-up modem, shoutouts to Nirvana and Aaliyah — into three and half minutes. Plus that bit that sounds like “Flashing Lights” is pretty great. Justin Francis’ wildly inventive music video is a colorful, frenetic homage to the decade’s music video tropes, and a must-see. The Golden Echo was produced by Kimbra and Rich Costey and features some exciting guests including Thundercat, Flying Lotus, Dirty Projectors’ Dave Longstreth, Mars Volta’s Omar Rodriguez-Lopez, Bilal, John Legend, Mew’s Jonas Bjerre, Queens Of The Stone Age’s Michael Shuman, and Muse’s Matt Bellamy and Foster The People’s Mark Foster (both on “90s Music”). Some songs were written with Daniel Johns from Silverchair, Check out the tracklist and rewatch the “90s Music” clip below.

01 “Teen Heat”
02 “90s Music”
03 “Carolina”
04 “Goldmine”
05 “Miracle”
06 “Rescue Him”
07 “Madhouse”
08 “Everlovin’ Ya”
09 “As You Are”
10 “Love In High Places”
11 “Nobody But You”
12 “Waltz Me To Grave”

The Golden Echo is out 8/18 via Warner Bros. Records. You can pre-order now and get an instant download of “90s Music,” “Love In High Places,” and “Nothing But You.” Stream the latter two here.

UPDATE: Warner Bros. clarifies:

Kimbra worked on songs with Dave Longstreth and Flying Lotus during the making of The Golden Echo that will be released later in the year, though these do not appear on the album. However, bonus tracks on the deluxe edition include appearances from Ben Weinman of The Dillinger Escape Plan, The Mars Volta’s Omar Rodriguez-Lopez, and Jonas Bjerre of Danish band Mew.

more from News

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?