Hear “Nothing To It” From All-Star Bob Dylan Comp The New Basement Tapes Feat. Jim James, Elvis Costello, Marcus Mumford

Bob Dylan wrote over a hundred songs during the legendary Basement Tapes recording sessions, which took place in the summer and fall of 1967, eight years before the album itself was released. Those sessions would produce some of Dylan’s most enduring songs, including “I Shall Be Released,” “The Mighty Quinn,” and “This Wheel’s On Fire.” Recently, lyrics that Dylan wrote during that period were rediscovered and put to music by an all-star cast. Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes is a collaborative project featuring Elvis Costello, My Morning Jacket’s Jim James, Marcus Mumford, Dawes’ Taylor Goldsmith, and Carolina Chocolate Drop’s Rhiannon Giddens and produced by T Bone Burnett. The group congregated for two weeks at Captiol Studios in Hollywood to record music for the lost lyrics. “What transpired during those two weeks was amazing for all of us,” Burnett said in a press release. “There was a deep well of generosity and support in the studio at all times, which reflected the tremendous trust and generosity shown by Bob in sharing these lyrics with us in the first place.” The group (which also features Johnny Depp on “Kansas City”) recorded 20 new songs put together from the lost Dylan lyrics. You can hear one of those new songs, “Nothing To It,” below, accompanied by a lyric video featuring Dylan’s actual handwritten lyrics.

01 “Down On The Bottom”
02 “Married To My Hack”
03 “Kansas City”
04 “Spanish Mary”
05 “Liberty Street”
06 “Nothing To It”
07 “Golden Tom – Silver Judas”
08 “When I Get My Hands On You”
09 “Duncan And Jimmy”
10 “Florida Key”
11 “Hidee Hidee Ho #11″
12 “Lost On The River #12″
13 “Stranger”
14 “Card Shark”
15 “Quick Like A Flash”
16 “Hidee Hidee Ho #16″
17 “Diamond Ring”
18 “The Whistle Is Blowing”
19 “Six Months In Kansas City (Liberty Street)”
20 “Lost On The River #20″

Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes will be released in standard and deluxe editions on 11/11 via Electromagnetic Recordings/Harvest Records. The album will be accompanied by a Showtime documentary called Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued that will air 11/21. Preorder information can be found here.