Neil Young Says CSNY Will Never Tour Again, Unveils Storytone LP & Car Memoir Details

A Neil Young news roundup for you: At a show in Philadelphia last night, Young responded to an audience member by saying that “CSNY will never tour again, ever … I love those guys.” The last extensive Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young tour was in 2006, though they also played together at 2013’s Bridge School benefit.

Young has also announced the details behind his latest studio album, Storytone (apparently, it’s dropped an extra e since this article was published yesterday). It’s his second studio album this year following A Letter Home and is due out on 11/4 via Reprise Records. The album features 10 songs that were all recorded with a 92-piece orchestra and a choir. It’ll be released in two versions: one with the full orchestra and one comprised of only solo versions.

The first single from the album, “Who’s Gonna Stand Up?“, was released last month, but Young has just put out a video that demonstrates the elaborate orchestral recording process. You can watch that below.

Additionally, Young gave some insight to Rolling Stone yesterday about his upcoming memoir, Special Deluxe: A Memoir Of Life And Cars, which (as the title states) is centered around the various cars he’s driven throughout his life. “I wrote about anything that came to mind in the history of things that had to do with a car — and that’s almost everything!” he said. “These are my memories – they made me what I am.” The book is out on 10/14.

01 “Plastic Flowers”
02 “Who’s Gonna Stand Up?”
03 “I Want To Drive My Car”
04 “Glimmer”
05 “Say Hello To Chicago”
06 “Tumbleweed”
07 “Like You Used To Do”
08 “I’m Glad I Found You”
09 “When I Watch You Sleeping”
10 “All Those Dreams”

Storytone is out 11/4 via Reprise Records

Tags: Neil Young