Ricked Wicky (Robert Pollard) – “Mobility”

Less than a month ago, Guided By Voices announced their for-real-this-time breakup, and it probably shouldn’t suprise anyone that frontman Robert Pollard already has a new thing up and going. Pollard’s new project is called Ricked Wicky, and in a piss-take press release, he calls it a “sophisticated arena rock band.” (He also says it’s “the very first name I created for a non-existent band in my early teens.”) Past collaborators Todd Tobias and Nick Mitchell contributed to Ricked Wicky’s debut album I Sell The Circus, which is out early next year. Below, check out the gleaming, arch stomp-rocker “Mobility” and the album’s very Pollardian tracklist.

01 “Well Suited”
02 “Death Metal Kid”
03 “Guts”
04 “Cow Headed Moon”
05 “Piss Face”
06 “Even Today And Tomorrow”
07 “Intellectual Types”
08 “Uranus Flies”
09 “The Important Girl”
10 “Frenzy Of Blame”
11 “Mobility”
12 “Tomorrow”
13 “Miles Of Concentration”
14 “Rotten Backboards”
15 “A Real Stab”

I Sell The Circus is out 2/2/15 on Fire Records.