Parquet Courts – “Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth”

The New York-via-Texas band Parquet Courts already released one album this year; the great Sunbathing Animal came out only a few months ago. But they’ve already announced another one, and this time they’re using a different name. Last year, the band released their Tally All The Things That You Broke EP under the name Parkay Quarts, and they’re bringing that altered moniker back for Content Nausea, their new LP. Band members Andrew Savage and Austin Brown did most of this one by themselves, putting it together in two weeks on a four-track machine. Jackie-O Motherfucker’s Jef Brown adds saxophone, and Eaters’ Bob Jones plays fiddle. The album is more of an exercise in bent Americana than in the band’s usual tourettic postpunk, and it’s got covers of Nancy Sinatra’s “These Boots Were Made For Walking” and the 13th Floor Elevators’ “Slide Machine.” Below, listen to the last song on the album, a lovely Dylanesque six-minute ramble called “Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth” and check out the “Content Nausea” tracklist.

01 “Everyday It Starts”
02 “Content Nausea”
03 “Urban Ease”
04 “Slide Machine”
05 “Kevlar Walls”
06 “Pretty Machines”
07 “Psycho Structures”
08 “The Map”
09 “These Boots”
10 “Insufferable”
11 “No Concept”
12 “Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth”

Content Nausea is out 11/11 on What’s Your Rupture?