Bob Dylan Shadows In The Night Details

A few months back, Bob Dylan confirmed that he would be releasing a new album next year called Shadows In The Night, and that it would consist of all Frank Sinatra covers, including his cover of “Full Moon And Empty Arms” that came out earlier this year. Now, Dylan has released some more album details, including a tracklist and an official release date. Here’s what he had to say about the recording process:

It was a real privilege to make this album. I’ve wanted to do something like this for a long time but was never brave enough to approach 30-piece complicated arrangements and refine them down for a 5-piece band. That’s the key to all these performances. We knew these songs extremely well. It was all done live. Maybe one or two takes. No overdubbing. No vocal booths. No headphones. No separate tracking, and, for the most part, mixed as it was recorded. I don’t see myself as covering these songs in any way. They’ve been covered enough. Buried, as a matter a fact. What me and my band are basically doing is uncovering them. Lifting them out of the grave and bringing them into the light of day.

01 “I’m A Fool To Want You”
02 “The Night We Called It A Day”
03 “Stay With Me”
04 “Autumn Leaves”
05 “Why Try To Change Me Now”
06 “Some Enchanted Evening”
07 “Full Moon And Empty Arms”
08 “Where Are You”
09 “What’ll I Do”
10 “That Lucky Old Son”

Shadows In The Night will be out on 2/3 via Columbia Records.