Death Cab For Cutie Share Kintsugi Album Cover, Tracklist, Release Date

Death Cab For Cutie have announced the details of their next album, which will be the last that they recorded with founding member Chris Walla. In a new interview with Rolling Stone, they reveal that the new album will be called Kintsugi and is due out on March 31st. Bassist Nick Harmer explains the record’s title: “It’s a Japanese style of art where they take fractured, broken ceramics and put them back together with very obvious, real gold. It’s making the repair of an object a visual part of its history. That resonated with us as a philosophy, and it connected to a lot of what we were going through, both professionally and personally.” Check out the tracklist and some words from Ben Gibbard below.

This is an opportunity for the band to become something it could only become by losing a founding member. It’s our goal to make records that rank amongst the best work we’ve ever done. I completely respect and understand why people love Transatlanticism or We Have the Facts… or Narrow Stairs. And I would hope that as we move forward, people listen with as little prejudice as they can and try to hear the music for what it is and not what they want it to be.


There’s been no “There was four, now there’s only three.” There will only be three of us in the photos now, and we’ll augment the live band for the time being and if we find ourselves playing with people that we feel can contribute on records, we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. A lot of it has been like that, figuring it out as we go. But the one thing that united us all throughout the process was one goal: We wanted to make a really good record.

01 “No Room In Frame”
02 “Black Sun”
03 “The Ghosts Of Beverly Drive”
04 “Little Wanderer”
05 “You’ve Haunted Me All My Life”
06 “Hold No Guns”
07 “Everything’s A Ceiling”
08 “Good Help (Is So Hard To Find)”
09 “El Dorado”
10 “Ingénue”
11 “Binary Sea”

Kintsugi is out 3/31 via Atlantic. Read our recent interview with the band.