Inventions – “Springworlds”

Inventions — the collaboration between Explosions In The Sky’s Mark T. Smith and Eluvium’s Matthew Cooper — have announced the follow-up to their self-titled debut, which was released last year. Maze Of Woods is due out on March 17th, and they’ve shared a new track called “Springworlds” to kick things off. It’s a melodic and satisfying blend of Cooper’s mellow ambient recordings and Smith’s quietly propulsive work with EITS. The release will also be accompanied by a three-track remix EP featuring remixes from the Field, Leyland Kirby, and A Winged Victory for the Sullen. You can listen to the song and check out the track list below.

01 “Escapers”
02 “Springworlds”
03 “Peregrine”
04 “Slow Breathing Circuit”
05 “A Wind From All Directions”
06 “Wolfkids”
07 “Moanmusic”
08 “Feeling The Sun Thru The Earth At Night”

Remix EP Tracklist
01 “Peregrine (The Field Remix)”
02 “Springworlds (Leyland Kirby Remix)”
03 “Slow Breathing Circuit (A Winged Victory For the Sullen Remix)”

Maze Of Woods is out 3/17 via Temporary Residence (US)/Bella Union (UK).

Explosions In The Sky also recently posted a note on their website saying that they’re taking a year off from touring to work on their next album. Their last full-length as a band was 2011’s Take Care, Take Care, Take Care, though they’ve released a few soundtrack scores in that time.