Magic! Lead 2015 Juno Nominees, Mac DeMarco & Alvvays Up For Breakthrough Awards

Do you believe in Magic!? Well, the Junos do. The Canadian music awards announced their 2015 nominations today, and as Global News reports, the white reggae bruddahs lead the field with five: Breakthrough Group Of The Year, Pop Album Of The Year, Single Of The Year, Juno Fan Choice, and Songwriter Of The Year. Kiesza and Leonard Cohen each have four nods. Hedley, Nickelback, and Serge Fiori follow with three apiece. Drake, Arcade Fire, the Weeknd, and Michael Bublé are also among the nominees. Notably, Alvvays will compete with Magic! for that Breakthrough Group award, but based on these figures, bet on Magic! Mac DeMarco will compete with Kiesza and others for Breakthrough Artist Of The Year. Another interesting category is Electronic Album Of The Year, where Caribou, Lydia Ainsworth, and Ryan Hemsworth will face Deadmau5. For a full list of nominees, click here.

The Juno Awards ceremony is 3/15 at the FirstOntario Centre in Hamilton.

[Photo by Tom Spray.]