Calexico – “Cumbia De Donde”

Calexico’s particular brand of latin-infused Americana resulted in what is probably the best Bob Dylan cover in existence (Jim James helped), but their original material is equally compelling. In fact, it’s so irresistible that a bevy of their peers seem consistently drawn to work with the group. They’ve announced the release of Edge Of The Sun today as the follow-up to 2012’s Algiers, and it features a stacked guest list. Collaborators include Neko Case, Iron & Wine’s Sam Beam, Band of Horses’ Ben Bridwell, and DeVotchka’s Nick Urata, among other more personal connections. They also shared the first track, “Cumbia De Donde” which is littered with with plenty of flamenco and mariachi reference points and vaguely reminiscent of the Gipsy Kings (I mean that in the best way). Listen below.

(via Pitchfork)

Here’s a statement from Calexico’s Joey Burns:

The “edge of the sun” could be coming from the direction of darkness seeking light, or riding the line between both. Which side of this edge are you on? Traversing along the edge of the sun, that to me feels closest to what this album is and what the band has been, and where we are with this international makeup of musicians. Madrid, Nashville, Tucson, El Paso, Berlin; it’s an eclectic mix. All in all, this album is about pushing through the blue to brighter days. Calexico has always had that element of hope, going back and forth between a positive outlook and embracing desperate or dark themes that I think we all share.

Edge Of The Sun tracklist:
01 “Falling From The Sky”
02 “Bullets & Rocks”
03 “When The Angels Played”
04 “Tapping On The Line”
05 “Cumbia De Donde”
06 “Miles From The Sea”
07 “Coyoacán”
08 “Beneath The City Of Dreams”
09 “Woodshed Waltz”
10 “Moon Never Rises”
11 “World Undone”
12 “Follow The River”

Edge Of The Sun is out 4/14 on Anti-/City Slang.

Tags: Calexico