Hear Indie Folk Supergroup Sounds Of The South Play “Trials, Troubles, Tribulations” From MusicNOW – 10 Years Comp

For the past decade, the National’s Bryce Dessner has been helping to put together Cincinnati’s MusicNOW Festival, which regularly features acts from the National’s orbit doing one-off collaborations. A new compilation called MusicNOW – 10 Years collects live recordings from past years, and it features big indie stars like Robin Pecknold, Sufjan Stevens, Grizzly Bear, and Dirty Projectors. The album’s opener is a big one. It’s from Songs Of The South, an one-off supergroup that features Justin Vernon, Sharon Van Etten, Matthew E. White, Megafaun, and Fight The Big Bull all getting together for a big, heavy, sad folk song. Listen to it and check out the compilation’s tracklist below.

01 Sounds Of The South – “Trials, Troubles, Tribulations”
02 Robin Pecknold – “Silver Dagger”
03 Sufjan Stevens – “The Owl & The Tanager”
04 eighth blackbird – “Omie Wise”
05 My Brightest Diamond – “I Have Never Loved Someone”
06 Dirty Projectors – “Emblem Of The World”
07 Tinariwen – “Imidiwan Ma Tenam”
08 Tim Hecker – “Chimeras (Live) 2011”
09 Colin Stetson – “Nobu Take”
10 Owen Pallett – “E Is For Estranged”
11 Erik Friedlander – “Airstream Envy”
12 Bonnie “Prince” Billy – “Love Comes To Me”
13 Grizzly Bear – “While You Wait For The Others”
14 The Books with Clogs – “Classy Penguin”
15 Andrew Bird – “Section 8 City”
16 Justin Vernon – “Love More”

MusicNOW – 10 Years is out 3/10 on Brassland. This year’s festival goes down 3/11-15.