Jenny Hval Announces New Album Apocalypse, girl

Jenny Hval Announces New Album Apocalypse, girl

Norwegian experimentalist Jenny Hval has announced her third solo album, Apocalypse, girl, and shared a trailer for the project. Fellow Norwegian and noise musician Lasse Marhaug interviewed Hval early last year, and she enjoyed the conversation so much that she enlisted Marhaug to produce her next record. Along with Marhaug, Hval worked with her bandmates Håvard Volden and Kyrre Laastad, collaborated with Øystein Moen (Jaga Jazzist/Puma) and Thor Harris (Swans), and worked with improv cellist Okkyung Lee and harpist Rhodri Davis. If the trailer is any indication, the resulting album is a cinematic, unruly affair that builds on Hval’s past work exploring the way language, bodies and sexuality are perceived in culture and how we can transgress those boundaries. Watch the trailer and check out the full tracklist below.

Apocalypse, girl tracklist:
01 “Kingsize”
02 “Take Care Of Yourself”
03 “That Battle Is Over”
04 “White Underground”
05 “Heaven”
06 “Why This_”
07 “Some Days”
08 “Sabbath”
09 “Angels and Anaemia”
10 “Holy Land”

Apocalypse, girl is out 6/9 via Sacred Bones. Pre-order it here.

    more from News

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?