Mumford & Sons Announce Electric Third Album Wilder Mind

Mumford & Sons Announce Electric Third Album Wilder Mind

Mumford & Sons have announced the details of their third full-length, Wilder Mind, and it’s bound to sound pretty different from the rest of the folk-rock group’s output. As As they told Rolling Stone, the band went completely electric for the new album, ditching the folkier elements that catapulted them to fame. “We felt that doing the same thing, or the same instrumentation again, just wasn’t for us,” Marcus Mumford explained. That’s not the only change on the upcoming album: Instead of Mumford taking sole lyrical responsibility like he did on their first two albums, the band wrote most of these songs collaboratively, with Mumford taking much more of a back seat. So look forward to a new, possibly improved Mumford & Sons. The new album was produced by James Ford — who has also worked with the Arctic Monkeys, Haim, and Florence + The Machine — and was put together in London, Texas, and the National’s Aaron Dessner’s studio in Brooklyn. Check out the tracklist below.

Here’s a video teaser the band shared last week:

01 “Tompkins Square Park”
02 “Believe”
03 “The Wolf”
04 “Wilder Mind”
05 “Just Smoke”
06 “Monster”
07 “Snake Eyes”
08 “Broad-Shouldered Beasts”
09 “Cold Arms”
10 “Ditmas”
11 “Only Love”
12 “Hot Gates”

Wilder Mind is out 5/4 via Glassnote Records. Read Tom’s defense of Mumford & Sons and Chris’ Deconstructing piece on the band.

more from News