Tanlines – “Slipping Away”

We haven’t heard from Tanlines since their debut full-length, 2012’s Mixed Emotions, but Jesse Cohen and Eric Emm are back in full force this year. “Slipping Away,” the lead single from the Brooklyn duo’s new album Highlights, builds on the tropical, wistful vibes of their previous work while pushing farther into traditional guitars-and-drums territory. But leaving behind electronic production was more an act of God than a technical decision. When the pair sat down to start working on new music their computer — along with all their samples and past sounds — literally blew up. “[It exploded] with a burst of sparks and clouds of smoke,” Emm said. “Whatever had just happened felt like some kind of omen.” So it’s no real surprise that their new song emphasizes loss with a laissez-faire attitude, even if the gauzy guitars and chugging drums make this feel more like a getaway song than a slow drift. Listen below.

Here’s the full Highlights tracklist:
01 “Pieces”
02 “Slipping Away”
03 “Palace”
04 “Two Thousand Miles”
05 “Invisible Ways”
06 “Bad Situations”
07 “Running Still”
08 “Thinking”
09 “If You Stay”
10 “Darling Dreamer”

Highlights is out 5/19 via True Panther.

Tags: Tanlines