Kendrick Lamar Unveils Cover Art For New Album To Pimp A Butterfly

Kendrick Lamar posted the artwork for his upcoming new album on his Instagram earlier tonight. The album is due to come out on 3/23, and still doesn’t have a title yet. Lamar noted during an interview with Big Boy earlier this week that he’s keeping the title under wraps for now, but the description on his Instagram picture may provide some clues:

“Don’t all dogs go to heaven? Don’t Gangsta’s boogie? Do owl shit stank? Lions, Tigers & Bears. But TO PIMP A BUTTERFLY. Its the American dream nigga….” – lil Homie.

People are speculating that the album is called To Pimp A Butterfly based on the emphasis in the description, but that hasn’t been confirmed yet.

UPDATE: Rolling Stone confirms that the album is called To Pimp A Butterfly. What does it mean? “That will be taught in college courses someday,” Kendrick explains. The angry, racially charged project was heavily influenced by Miles Davis and Parliament. One of the songs is titled “King Kunta.”

UPDATE 2: DJ Booth says this is the official tracklist, though at this point it’s unclear if the album includes any features:

01 “Wesley’s Theory”
02 “For Free? (Interlude)”
03 “King Kunta”
04 “Institutionalized”
05 “These Walls”
06 “U”
07 “Alright”
08 “For Sale? (Interlude)”
09 “Momma”
10 “Hood Politics”
11 “How Much A Dollar Cost”
12 “Complexion”
13 “The Blacker The Berry”
14 “You Ain’t Gotta Lie (Momma Said)”
15 “I”
16 “Mortal Man”