Surprise! Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp A Butterfly Is Out Now

Surprise! Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp A Butterfly Is Out Now

Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp A Butterfly went live on iTunes tonight, ahead of its planned 3/23 release date. The clean and explicit versions are available to buy — you can purchase it right here. You can also stream it on Spotify below.

(Thanks to commenter jazzyvibezzz for pointing this out!)

Right before the release, Lamar tweeted this:

Yesterday was the 20th anniversary of Tupac Shakur’s Me Against The World.

And here’s TDE CEO Anthony “Top Dawg” Tiffith, who doesn’t seem to be too happy with the way Lamar’s album was rolled out:

Here’s the full To Pimp A Butterfly tracklist:

01 “Wesley’s Theory” (Feat. George Clinton & Thundercat)
02 “For Free? (Interlude)”

03 “King Kunta”

04 “Institutionalized” (Feat. Bilal, Anna Wise, & Snoop Dogg)
05 “These Walls” (Feat. Bilal, Anna Wise, & Thundercat)

06 “U”

07 “Alright”
08 “For Sale? (Interlude)”
09 “Momma”

10 “Hood Politics”
11 “How Much A Dollar Cost” (Feat. James Fauntleroy & Ronald Isley)

12 “Complexion (A Zulu Love)” (Feat. Rapsody)

13 “The Blacker The Berry”

14 “You Ain’t Gotta Lie (Momma Said)”

15 “i”
16 “Mortal Man”

Here’s a list of some of the notable samples that appear on the album:

  • The intro to “Wesley’s Theory” is taken from Jamaican singer Boris Gardiner’s “Every Nigger Is A Star.”
  • “King Kunta” contains elements of James Brown’s “The Payback” and borrows some lyrics from Michael Jackson’s “Smooth Criminal.”
  • “Momma” samples Sly And The Family Stone’s “Wishful Thinking” and Lalah Hathaway’s “On Your Own” from her 2008 album, Self Portrait.
  • “Hood Politics” includes a sample of Sufjan Stevens’ Age Of Adz track “All For Myself.”
  • “i” contains parts of the Isley Brother’s “That Lady.”
  • Closing track “Mortal Man” features Fela Kuti’s “No Get Eye For Back” and a 1994 interview with 2Pac.

more from News