Van Hunt – “Old Hat” (Stereogum Premiere)

Since 2000, Grammy-winning singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and producer Van Hunt has crafted a sultry brand of neo-soul and toured with the likes of Mary J. Blige, Alicia Keys and The Roots. The darkly jittering single “Old Hat” marks his first release since 2011’s blues rock-inflected LP What Were You Hoping For? While it bears resemblance to Hoping For’s gritty funk-rock, “Old Hat” has Hunt showing off his elastic voice over a sinister bassline, capturing an impossible, D-Angelo-esque cool. It’s a piece of minimal funk that simmers but never burns. Hear the song and check out the tracklist for Hunt’s forthcoming LP The Fun Rises, The Fun Sets below.

The Fun Rises, The Fun Sets tracklist:
01 “Vega (stripes on)”
02 “Old Hat”
03 “Pedestal”
04 “Teach Me A New Language”
05 “(let It) Soak (n)”
06 “…Puddin'”
07 “She Stays With Me”
08 “Headroom”
09 “French For Cloud (cstbu)”
10 “Rub My Feet (suddenly)”
11 “Emotional Criminal”
12 “If I Wanna Dance With You”
13 “A Woman Never Changes”
14 “The Fun Rises, The Fun Sets.”

The Fun Rises, The Fun Sets is out 5/4 via Godless-Hotspot/Thirty Tigers.

Tags: Van Hunt