Purple – “Never Come Back” (Stereogum Premiere)

Purple is Luis Dourado, a Berlin by way of Portugal songwriter and producer. He released his initial Salvation EP (along with a remixed version) in 2013 and has been an integral part of the electronic gloom collective WEDIDIT (Shlohmo, RL Grime). Today we’re announcing that his debut album Silence & Remorse will be out this June and premiering the second single, “Never Come Back.” As you can tell from the song and album title — or even from previously released track “Extinction — this is music about loss, fatalism and the grip of internal turmoil. “Never Come Back” is a helix of self-loathing and jealousy over hazy, dark beats; a jilted lover wandering the labyrinth of demand. Shlohmo worked closely on Silence & Remorse, and you can hear his fingerprints, but this particular witchy production and tense longing indicates that Purple is no longer an emerging artist — he’s emerged. Listen to the song below and heck out the album’s full tracklist and tour dates.

Here’s the full tracklist for the album:
01 “Extinction”
02 “Make You Mine”
03 “Never Come Back”
04 “Let Me Stay”
05 “It Ends Like This”
06 “Secretly”
07 “I Swear”
08 “Silence & Remorse”
09 “Lost Boys”
10 “The Deepest Night”
11 “Hatred”

And his current tour dates with Shlohmo:
04/24 Seattle, WA 2 Neumos
04/26 Portland, OR @ Branx
04/29 Arcata, CA @ The Arcata Theatre
04/30 San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
05/01 Berkeley, CA @ Memorial Glade
05/02 Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst
05/03 Santa Barbara, CA @ Velvet Jones
05/07 Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda

Silence & Remorse is out this 6/16 via WEDIDIT. Pre-order it here.