Flying Saucer Attack Announce First New Album In 15 Years + Share “Instrumental 7″

The amazing Bristol, England-based ambient/folk/noise band Flying Saucer Attack haven’t released an album since 2000’s Mirror, but today — like a shimmering orb on the distant horizon — they’ve appeared as if out of nowhere, with the announcement of a new LP, Instrumentals 2015, and a new song, “Instrumental 7.” (For a band with one of the best monikers of the last 25 years, they are not exactly setting a new bar with these titles, but whatever.) This iteration of FSA consists only of bandleader David Pearce, and Instrumentals 2015 is 15 tracks, comprising “solo performances recorded in characteristically lo-fi manner at home, using guitars only on tape and CD-R.” (It’s worth noting, though, that the album’s cover features an etching by former FSA member Rachel Coe, now of Movietone.) You can listen to “Instrumental 7″ and watch the Peter Strickland-directed video below.

Instrumentals 2015 is out 7/30 via Drag City.