David Gilmour – “Rattle That Lock”

Pink Floyd guitarist David Gilmour has announced that he’ll be releasing his first solo album since 2006’s On An Island. The new one is called Rattle That Lock, and today he’s shared the title track and lead single for the record. According to Rolling Stone, most of the album’s lyrics were written by his wife, writer Polly Samson, with some additional help from Roxy Music’s Phil Manzanera. Gilmour said that the first single “begins with the four notes, created by [sound designer] Michaël Boumendil, which precede announcements at French SNCF railway stations which David recorded on his phone at Aix-en-Provence station. Polly’s lyrics were inspired by Book II of John Milton’s Paradise Lost.” Listen below.

01 “5 A.M.”
02 “Rattle That Lock”
03 “Faces Of Stone”
04 “A Boat Lies Waiting”
05 “Dancing Right In Front Of Me”
06 “In Any Tongue”
07 “Beauty (Gilmour)”
08 “The Girl In The Yellow Dress”
09 “Today”
10 “And Then…”

Rattle That Lock is out 9/18. Preorder it here.