Suede Announce New Album Night Thoughts

Britpop legends Suede have just announced a new album, Night Thoughts, their seventh studio LP and their second since reuniting in 2010. Night Thoughts will be out early next year, and it’s going to be accompanied by a feature-length film directed by Roger Sargent, which will be released on DVD in a special album package. As NME reports, the album features a full string section, and it was recorded in London and Brussels with long-time producer Ed Buller. The band will premiere the record by performing the entire thing live 11/13 and 11/14 at London’s Roundhouse while the film plays behind them. This is what Sargent had to say about the film in a press release:

I was asked to pitch an idea for this film project … I really had no idea what they were wanting or expecting so I tried to write in the least self-conscious way possible. The record deals with a lot of familial themes — life, death, love, anguish and despair; themes that are expanded upon in its visual companion, providing a study of how those elements affect ?the human psyche. It resonated with me for many reasons, not least because my mother passed away a few days after I started writing a story for the film. The film starts with a man drowning in the waters of a deserted beach at night, as he fights for life, his mind plays out the events that lead him to be there.

Watch a trailer for the film and check out the album’s tracklist below.


01 “When You Are Young”
02 “Outsiders”
03 “No Tomorrow”
04 “Pale Snow”
05 “I Don’t Know How To Reach You”
06 “What I’m Trying To Tell You”
07 “Tightrope”
08 “Learning To Be”
09 “Like Kids”
10 “I Can’t Give Her What She Wants”
11 “When You Were Young”
12 “The Fur & The Feathers”

Night Thoughts is out 1/22 via WM UK.