New Beach House Album Thank Your Lucky Stars Out Next Week

New Beach House Album Thank Your Lucky Stars Out Next Week

UPDATE: Beach House have confirmed that Thank Your Lucky Stars is out 10/16 on Sub Pop. You can pre-order it here. They are playing a surprise show at Baltimore’s Ottobar this Saturday. Lyrics for all the songs and more details below.

Here’s a little more information about the album from the band’s Facebook:

It was recorded at the same time as Depression Cherry, but for us, it’s very much a different record. All of its songs were written after the DC songs. Along the way we realized that we didn’t want it to be released in the traditional manner. Mainly, we just wanted our listeners to hear it first. We will have more info later……


Beach House’s official website for Depression Cherry is full of easter eggs, including pictures and videos from inside the studio where they recorded. (If you hit “X” on your keyboard on any of the individual song pages, you’ll see some words singled out — if you click those, voila, new stuff.) The lyric website that the band initially — now redirects to a different URL — — and some internet sleuths on Reddit are speculating that a new album or a collection of B-sides from the band could be coming soon.

Apparently for a short period of time yesterday, another part of the website was available (at where lyrics to new songs and additional unreleased photos were available. These seem to hint at another 9-song collection (where each track corresponds with one on Depression Cherry) called Thank Your Lucky Stars. That means the URL for the lyric website — — would correlate with Depression Cherry (DC) and the new collection (TYLS). These are the names of the 9 songs that were available, with links to their individual lyric sheets (UPDATE: This is the official tracklisting.):

01 “Majorette
02 “She’s So Lovely
03 “All Your Yeahs
04 “One Thing
05 “Common Girl
06 “The Traveller
07 “Elegy To The Void
08 “Rough Song
09 “Somewhere Tonight

There’s also an album full of images of the band from the recording session and a few other mysterious photos. Reverse image searching these via TinEye returns no results, except on the few that are old stock photographs.

Following along so far? OK, so here’s where things start to get really interesting. The lyrics to one of the alleged tracks — “One Thing” — match with a live performance of an unreleased song that Beach House played at a concert in 2014. Compare those two below (unreleased song starts at 3m10s):

The vinyl edition also, according to Discogs (which, should be noted, anyone can edit), contains the phrases “THANK YOUR LUCKY STARS” and “She’s a fire in the night” (a lyric from one of the alleged new tracks) etched onto the packaging.

Hmm? It could turn out to be an elaborate prank — it happened recently with regards to Beach House, after all. But the evidence seems pretty solid, so let’s speculate and get our hopes up anyway!

more from News

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?