Jesu/Sun Kil Moon – “Exodus” (Feat. Low & Rachel Goswell)

In July, Nick Cave lost his 15-year-old son Arthur when Arthur fell off a cliff in Brighton. Not long after, as a tribute to Cave and his son, Mark Kozelek covered Cave’s “The Weeping Song” at live shows. Next year, Kozelek and his friend Justin Broadrick will release a collaborative album called Jesu/Sun Kil Moon. Broadrick has been recording churning, slow emotional metal as Jesu for more than a decade, and he’s also founded tremendously important metal bands like Godflesh and Napalm Death. We’ve already posted their collaboration “America’s Most Wanted Mark Kozelek And John Dillinger.” And now Kozelek has written a song about Cave’s son and about the idea of parents losing kids. It’s called “Exodus.”

The song is 10-minutes long, and it’s basically a weathered and sad Kozelek monologue, with musical backing and with a chorus of backing singers coming in at the end. The duo reportedly got help from Minnesota slowcore greats Low and from Slowdive/Mojave 3 member Rachel Goswell. (On his 2015 album Universal Themes, Kozelek sang about making out with Goswell backstage at a Gomez show years ago.) The album also features appearances from Will Oldham and Modest Mouse’s Isaac Brock, and Kozelek and Broadrick will tour the album with former Sonic Youth drummer Steve Shelly. Below, listen to the song and check out the album’s tracklist, which actually includes a song called “Last Night I Rocked The Room Like Elvis And Had Them Laughing Like Richard Pryor.”

01 “Good Morning My Love”
02 “Carondelet”
03 “A Song Of Shadows”
04 “Last Night I Rocked The Room Like Elvis And Had Them Laughing Like Richard Pryor”
05 “Fragile”
06 “Father’s Day”
07 “Sally”
08 “America’s Most Wanted Mark Kozelek And John Dillinger”
09 “Exodus”
10 “Beautiful You”

Jesu/Sun Kil Moon is out 1/21 on Caldo Verde/Rough Trade.