Pet Shop Boys – “Inner Sanctum”

British synthpop duo Pet Shop Boys turned in a killer performance accompanied by K-Pop girl group f(x) towards the end of last year, and that seemed to start a wave of momentum for them. Along with the announcement of their new album Super due this spring, today they release the lead single “Inner Sanctum.” The track is pure pulsating, fluctuating energy, with a sparse breathy harmony on the hook moving to the forefront as they scale the beat back. The drops don’t necessarily hit you over the head after a gradual build; instead they wash over you, allowing you to settle into your groove before the chill vocal refrain. Check it out below.

Watch a teaser below.

01 “Happiness”
02 “The Pop Kids”
03 “Twenty-Something”
04 “Groovy”
05 “The Dictator Decides”
06 “Pazzo!”
07 “Inner Sanctum”
08 “Undertow”
09 “Sad Robot World”
10 “Say It To Me”
11 “Burn”
12 “Into Thin Air”

Super is out 4/1 on x2. Pre-order is available in digital and physical formats.