PJ Harvey Announces New Album The Hope Six Demolition Project; Stream “The Wheel”

PJ Harvey recorded her new album as part of a public art installation last year, and she’s finally ready to release the output from those sessions as her ninth record. After teasing the album over the past few months (and debuting a bunch of new songs live in October), we finally have the first single and some more details about Harvey’s latest release, her first since 2011’s Let England Shake.

The new song is called “The Wheel,” and was “inspired by her travels over the past few years,” as Steve Lamacq said when introducing it on BBC Radio 6, where it debuted earlier today. The record is called The Hope Six Demolition Project — presumably named after a plan by the U.S. Department Of Housing And Urban Development to revitalize public housing projects — and it’s out 4/15. You can listen to the full song below, and watch an album trailer below that features parts of “The Wheel” and another new song called “A Community Of Hope.”

Here’s the album artwork:

Hope Six

01 “The Community Of Hope”
02 “The Ministry Of Defence”
03 “A Line In The Sand”
04 “Chain Of Keys”
05 “River Anacostia”
06 “Near The Memorials To Vietnam And Lincoln”
07 “The Orange Monkey”
08 “Medicinals”
09 “The Ministry Of Social Affairs”
10 “The Wheel”
11 “Dollar, Dollar”

Here’s what Harvey had to say about the record in a press statement:

When I’m writing a song I visualise the entire scene. I can see the colours, I can tell the time of day, I can sense the mood, I can see the light changing, the shadows moving, everything in that picture. Gathering information from secondary sources felt too far removed for what I was trying to write about. I wanted to smell the air, feel the soil and meet the people of the countries I was fascinated with.

The Hope Six Demolition Project is out 4/15 via Vagrant Records.

Tags: PJ Harvey