Iggy Pop & Josh Homme Made An Album Together

This almost makes too much sense, doesn’t it? The New York Times reports that veteran rock marauders Iggy Pop and Josh Homme have gotten together in secret to make an album. That album, which they made with “full independence,” is called Post Pop Depression, and it’s coming out on Loma Vista in March. Times critic Jon Pareles writes that it “shows both songwriters’ clear fingerprints: the pithy, hard-nosed clarity of Mr. Pop’s lyrics and the unflinching tone of his voice; and the crispness, angularity and deft convolutions of Mr. Homme’s chords and melodies.” Sounds pretty good!

Homme says that the new album goes in the same direction as Lust For Life, Pop’s 1977 collaboration with David Bowie. And Pop says that the album’s theme is this: “What happens after your years of service? And where is the honor?”

Homme and Pop wrote the album together, and Homme says it helped him deal with the aftermath of the November terrorist attack at the Eagles Of Death Metal show in Paris: “The fact that I had this to work on, it saved me.” Homme and Pop recorded the album together secretly, paying for everything themselves. Only two other musicians play on the album: QOTSA/Dead Weather keyboardist/guitarist Dean Fertita and Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders. They’re all planning a short tour together in March.

Everything about this sounds pretty awesome. It’s been a long minute since the last great Iggy Pop album, but fingers crossed that this will be it.