The Kills – “Doing It To Death” Video

The Kills, the grimy, larger-than-life trans-Atlantic blues-punk duo, haven’t released a new album since Blood Pressures in 2011. Singer Alison Mosshart has stayed busy with the Dead Weather and guest appearances, while guitarist Jamie Hince has had to relearn to play guitar after going through five hand surgeries. But now they’re coming back with a brand-new album, their fifth. Ash & Ice is coming in June, and they’ve just unveiled the video for “Doing It To Death,” its first single.

“Doing It To Death,” it turns out, is a slick-but-spartan throb with some chattering synths and a big, elemental riff. The band recorded it in California, and it looks like that’s where they shot the video, too. Director Wendy Morgan has put them at the center of a fashionable, heavily choreographed funeral procession. It’s a striking image from a band who knows about striking images. Below, check out the video and the album’s tracklist.

01 “Doing It To Death”
02 “Heart Of A Dog”
03 “Hard Habit To Break”
04 “Bitter Fruit”
05 “Days Of Why And How”
06 “Let It Drop”
07 “Hum For Your Buzz”
08 “Siberian Nights”
09 “That Love”
10 “Impossible Tracks”
11 “Black Tar”
12 “Echo Home”
13 “Whirling Eye”

Ash & Ice is out 6/3 on Domino.