The National Reveal Massive Grateful Dead Tribute Tracklist Feat. The War On Drugs, Jenny Lewis, Flaming Lips, & Many More

The National Reveal Massive Grateful Dead Tribute Tracklist Feat. The War On Drugs, Jenny Lewis, Flaming Lips, & Many More

The long-gestating Grateful Dead compilation album curated by Aaron and Bryce Dessner of the National will at last be released this May. The comp is titled Day Of The Dead and it’s coming out 5/20 on 4AD. Featuring more than four dozen different artists whose backgrounds range from classical to jazz to folk to (of course) indie rock, and beyond, the album will include 59 re-workings of classic Grateful Dead songs over its near-six-hour running time. This massive endeavor was taken on not only to show the cultural and musical impact made by the Grateful Dead, but to create a philanthropic platform as well. Set to be released digitally in three volumes, as a five-CD set, and as a limited edition vinyl box set, all profits will help fight for AIDS/HIV and related health issues around the world through the Red Hot Organization. The release will be followed by a Day Of The Dead live performance at the Eaux Claires Festival featuring Jenny Lewis, Matthew Houck of Phosphorescent, Lucius, Will Oldham, Sam Amidon, Richard Reed Perry, Justin Vernon, Bruce Hornsby, Ruban Nielson, and the National. Check out the (insane) tracklist below, and check out our recent cover story on the National, where they talked at great length about the Dead compilation (among lots of other things).

Day Of The Dead digital tracklist:

“Thunder” (Vol.1)

01 The War on Drugs – “Touch of Grey”
02 Phosphorescent, Jenny Lewis & Friends – “Sugaree”
03 Jim James & Friends – “Candyman”
04 Moses Sumney, Jenny Lewis & Friends – “Cassidy”
05 Bruce Hornsby and DeYarmond Edison – “Black Muddy River”
06 Ed Droste, Binki Shapiro & Friends – “Loser”
07 The National – “Peggy-O”
08 Kurt Vile and the Violators (featuring J Mascis) – “Box of Rain”
09 Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Friends – “Rubin and Cherise”
10 Perfume Genius, Sharon Van Etten & Friends – “To Lay Me Down”
11 Courtney Barnett – “New Speedway Boogie”
12 Mumford & Sons – “Friend of the Devil”
13 Lucius – “Uncle John’s Band”
14 The Lone Bellow & Friends – “Me and My Uncle”
15 Lee Ranaldo, Lisa Hannigan & Friends – “Mountains of the Moon”
16 Anohni and yMusic – “Black Peter”
17 Bryce Dessner – “Garcia Counterpoint”
18 Daniel Rossen, Christopher Bear and The National (featuring Josh Kaufman, Conrad Doucette, So Percussion and Brooklyn Youth Chorus) – “Terrapin Station (Suite)”
19 Angel Olsen – “Attics of My Life”
20 Wilco with Bob Weir – “”St Stephen (live)”

“Lightning” (Vol. 2)

01 Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy – “If I Had the World to Give”
02 Phosphorescent & Friends – “Standing on the Moon”
003 Charles Bradley and Menahan Street Band – “Cumberland Blues”
04 The Tallest Man on Earth & Friends – “Ship of Fools”
05 Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Friends – “Bird Song”
06 The National – “Morning Dew”
07 Marijuana Deathsquads – “Truckin’”
08 Cass McCombs, Joe Russo & Friends – “Dark Star”
09 Nightfall of Diamonds – “Nightfall of Diamonds”
10 Tim Hecker – “Transitive Refraction Axis for John Oswald”
11 Lucinda Williams & Friends – “Going Down The Road Feelin’ Bad”
12 Tunde Adebimpe, Lee Ranaldo & Friends – “Playing in the Band”
13 Local Natives – “Stella Blue”
14 Tal National – “Eyes of the World”
15 Bela Fleck – “Help on the Way”
16 Orchestra Baobab – “Franklin’s Tower”
17 Luluc with Xylouris White – “Till the Morning Comes”
18 The Walkmen – “Ripple”
19 Richard Reed Parry with Caroline Shaw and Little Scream (featuring Garth Hudson) – “Brokedown Palace”

“Sunshine” (Vol. 3)

01 Real Estate – “Here Comes Sunshine”
02 Unknown Mortal Orchestra – “Shakedown Street”
03 Hiss Golden Messenger – “Brown-Eyed Women”
04 This Is the Kit – “Jack-A-Roe”
05 Daniel Rossen and Christopher Bear – “High Time”
06 The Lone Bellow & Friends – “Dire Wolf”
07 Winston Marshall, Kodiak Blue and Shura – “Althea”
08 Orchestra Baobab – “Clementine Jam”
09 Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks – “China Cat Sunflower -> I Know You Rider”
10 Bill Callahan – “Easy Wind”
11 Ira Kaplan & Friends – “Wharf Rat”
12 The Rileys – “Estimated Prophet”
13 Man Forever, So Percussion and Oneida – “Drums -> Space”
14 Fucked Up – “Cream Puff War”
15 The Flaming Lips – “Dark Star”
16 s t a r g a z e – “What’s Become of the Baby”
17 Vijay Iyer – “King Solomon’s Marbles”
18 Mina Tindle & Friends – “Rosemary”
19 Sam Amidon – “And We Bid You Goodnight”
20 The National with Bob Weir – “I Know You Rider (live)”

Day of the Dead is out 05/20 via 4AD. Pre-order it here.

more from News