Omni – “Afterlife” Video (Stereogum Premiere)

Atlanta-based rock band Omni is set to release their debut album Deluxe this July. The group matches former Deerhunter/Balkans guitarist Frankie Broyles with ex-Carnivores members Philip Frobos and Billy Mitchell. Channeling the likes of Devo and Pylon, their music is a blissful trip back in time to the arty, danceable rhythms of the new wave movement, but with a rough lo-fi flair.

With the announcement of their album Omni has released the video for lead single “Afterlife.” Like the music itself, the video feels like a trip back to the early ’80s, peering through a home video lens into the Mammal Gallery and peeking at geometric art projections. While the band plays their upbeat tune that introspectively questions one’s death, colorful neon shapes dance about the space, introducing us to the world of Omni. Watch below and check out the tracklist for Deluxe.

Track list:
01 “Afterlife”
02 “Wednesday Wedding”
03 “Wire”
04 “Earrings”
05 “Jungle Jenny”
06 “Cold Vermouth”
07 “Eyes On The Floor”
08 “Siam”
09 “Plane”
10 “78”

Deluxe is out 7/8 via Trouble In Mind Records. Pre-order it here.

CREDIT: Brock Scott