Wymond Miles – “Divided In Two” (Stereogum Premiere)

Wymond Miles is probably best known for his work as a guitarist in the Fresh & Onlys, but he offered an excellent solo effort with 2013’s Cut Your Self Free. He’s gearing up to the release the followup Call By Night later this summer. Miles displays his versatility and evolution as a solo artist having written most of the songs on his new album on the piano, going for a more audacious, ambitious sound. On the lead single, “Divided In Two,” his sound is bigger with a more cinematic feel. The eerie church organ at the beginning is joined by big drums, huge guitar strums, and sparse bass rhythms, and enveloped in an infectious slow-churning whirl. Miles’ tenor powerfully floats above, hitting gravelly lows as he wails passionately. Check it out.


01 “Summer Rains”
02 “Protection”
03 “Solomon’s Song”
04 “Call By Night”
05 “Bride of the Lamb”
06 “Divided In Two”
07 “Rear View Mirror”
08 “Stand Before Me”
09 “Devil’s Blue Eyes”

Record release show:

07/07 San Francisco, CA @ Make Out Room

Call By Night is out 7/8 via Sacred Bones. Pre-order it in digital and physical formats.

Tags: Wymond Miles