Carl Broemel – “Sleepy Lagoon”

My Morning Jacket member Carl Broemel has announced a new solo album, his first since 2010’s All Birds Say, and shared its first single, “Sleepy Lagoon.” The album features MMJ bandmates Bo Koster and Tom Blankenship, plus guest appearances from Neko Case, Laura Veirs, Russ Pollard, Shelly Colvin, Richard Medek and Jordan Caress. “To me, I think the record ended up being about borders and grey areas,” Broemel said to Pitchfork. “Those between sleep and wakefulness, between activity and pause, between imagination and reality, between touring and home life.” Listen below.

01 “Sleepy Lagoon”
02 “4th Of July”
03 “Rockingchair Dancer”
04 “Snowflake”
05 “Landing Gear”
06 “In The Dark”
07 “Crawlspace”
08 “Best Of”

4th Of July is out 8/19 via Broemel’s own label Stocks In Asia and Thirty Tigers. Pre-order it here.