Warpaint – “New Song”

Warpaint – “New Song”

Warpaint have announced a follow-up to their very good 2014 sophomore self-titled album. It’s called Heads Up, and apparently sees the LA rockers going in a more dance-oriented direction. “We’ve always had this really jammy, high-energy live show compared to some of our records,” the band’s Emily Kokal said in a statement. “We all love to dance. We didn’t want to take away from the emotion or the core feeling of what our band is all about — which I don’t even think we could take out if we wanted, because it is who we are — but we wanted to bump the speed up and have a little bit more fun.” The lead single is the inventively-titled “New Song” (it’s a new song — get it?!), and it’s certainly more driving and immediate than almost anything they’ve put out before. Listen and check out a tracklist below.

01 “Whiteout”
02 “By Your Side”
03 “New Song”
04 “The Stall”
05 “So Good”
06 “Don’t Wanna”
07 “Don’t Let Go”
08 “Dre”
09 “Heads Up”
10 “Above Control”
11 “Today Dear”

Heads Up is out 9/23 via Rough Trade.

more from New Music

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?