Joyce Manor – “Fake I.D.”

California pop-punk band Joyce Manor have announced a new album, the follow-up to their 2014 breakthrough Never Hungover Again. The album’s called Cody and was produced by Rob Schnapf (Elliott Smith, Guided By Voices, the Anniversary). Lead single “Fake I.D.” continues the band’s hook-filled approach that they fine-tuned on their last album, and sees lead singer Barry Johnson providing a bleary recounting of a girl who asks “What do you think about Kanye West?” and ventures towards the kind of pointed, plainspoken sentiments that the band are best at: “Don’t be shy because my friend Brandon died/ And I feel sad, I miss him, he was rad.” Listen and check out the tracklist via Pitchfork below.

01 “Fake I.D.”
02 “Eighteen”
03 “Angel In The Snow”
04 “Do You Really Not Want To Get Better?”
05 “Last You Heard Of Me”
06 “Make Me Dumb”
07 “Over Before It Began”
08 “Reversing Machine”
09 “Stairs”
10 “This Song Is A Mess But So Am I”

Cody is out 10/7 via Epitaph.

Tags: Joyce Manor