The White Stripes – “City Lights”

Jack White has just announced a collection of acoustic recordings spanning his entire career — from 1998 – 2016 — that will be out next month. The double LP/CD will feature 26 tracks of remastered alternate versions/mixes, B-sides, and an unreleased recording from the White Stripes. The previously unheard White Stripes track is “City Lights,” which was written for 2005’s Get Behind Me Satan and forgotten until White finished it after revisiting the album for Third Man’s vinyl reissue in 2015. It’s a heartfelt, self-critical song. Listen to “City Lights,” watch a trailer for the album, and find details below.

Back Cover:


01 “Sugar Never Tasted So Good”
02 “Apple Blossom (Remixed)”
03 “I’m Bound To Pack It Up (Remixed)”
04 “Hotel Yorba”
05 “We’re Going To Be Friends”
06 “You’ve Got Her In Your Pocket”
07 “Well It’s True That We Love One Another”
08 “Never Far Away”

09 “Forever For Her (Is Over For Me)”
10 “White Moon”
11 “As Ugly As I Seem”
12 “City Lights”
13 “Honey, We Can’t Afford To Look This Cheap “
14 “Effect & Cause”

15 “Love Is The Truth” (Acoustic Mix)
16 “Top Yourself” (Bluegrass Version)
17 “Carolina Drama” (Acoustic Mix)
18 “Love Interruption”
19 “On And On And On”
20 “Machine Gun Silhouette (Acoustic Mix)”

21 “Blunderbuss”
22 “Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy” (Alternate Mix)
23 “I Guess I Should Go To Sleep” (Alternate Mix)
24 “Just One Drink” (Acoustic Mix)
25 “Entitlement”
26 “Want And Able”

Jack White Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016 is out 9/9 on Third Man/Columbia. Pre-order it here and receive “City Lights” digitally.