Communions – “Got To Be Free”

Communions earned a spot on our 50 Best New Bands Of 2015 list with their excellent self-titled EP, but the Danish four-piece are just getting started. Today, they’ve announced their debut album Blue and shared its first track, “Got To Be Free.” This summer’s “Don’t Hold Anything Back” b/w “Eternity” 7″ showed them bringing their chilly melodic guitar-pop into the sun, and “Got To Be Free” continues that trend. There’s a new playfulness and an immediacy here; the early-morning fog has been cleared away, the sleepy lids have been opened, and the new Communions have arrived. Listen below.


01 “Come On, I’m Waiting”
02 “Today”
03 “Passed You By”
04 “She’s A Myth”
05 “Midnight Child”
06 “Got To Be Free”
07 “Don’t Hold Anything Back”
08 “Take It All”
09 “It’s Like Air”
10 “Eternity”
11 “Alarm Clocks”

Blue is out 2/3 via Fat Possum. Pre-order it on vinyl or CD.

Tags: Communions