King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard – “Rattlesnake” Video

King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard – “Rattlesnake” Video

Restless Australian psych-rock crew King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard have always released music at a rapid pace — their most recent album, Nonagon Infinity, came out back in April — but they’ve just announced an ambitious plan to release five studio albums in 2017, starting with one called Flying Microtonal Banana on 2/24. Each one of the albums is based around a different sonic experiment, and this first one is their first foray into microtonal tuning.

“Earlier this year we started experimenting with a custom microtonal guitar our friend Zak made for Stu,” drummer Eric Moore explained in a press release. “The guitar was modified to play in 24-TET tuning and could only be played with other microtonal instruments. We ended up giving everyone a budget of $200 to buy instruments and turn them microtonal. The record features the modified electric guitars, basses, keyboards and harmonica as well as a Turkish horn called a Zurna.”

The first single from the album is a 8-minute nervous puncher named “Rattlesnake,” and it comes with a video directed by Jason Galea. Watch and listen and check out all the album details below.

01 “Rattlesnake”
02 “Melting”
03 “Open Water”
04 “Sleep Drifter”
05 “Billabong Valley”
06 “Anoxia”
07 “Doom City”
08 “Nuclear Funion”
09 “Flying Microtonal Banana”

Flying Microtonal Banana is out 2/24 via ATO. Pre-order it here.

more from New Music