Pissed Jeans – “The Bar Is Low”

We last heard from Pissed Jeans, Philadelphia’s finest purveyors of damaged and terrifying noise-punk, when they released the beautifully ugly 2013 album Honeys. And today, they’ve announced that they’ll follow it up next year with a new LP called Why Love Now. Punk rock legend Lydia Lunch co-produced the album alongside Philly metal veteran Arthur Rizk. And the band has led things off with the single “The Bar Is Low,” a guttural riff-monster about how just about every man walking the face of the earth today is an asshole. In a press release, frontman Matt Korvette says it’s “about how every guy seems to be revealing themselves as a shithead. It seems like every guy is getting outed, across every board of entertainment and politics and music. There’s no guy that isn’t a total creep.” Below, listen to “The Bar Is Low” and check out the album’s tracklist.

01 “Waiting On My Horrible Warning”
02 “The Bar Is Low”
03 “Ignorecam”
04 “Cold Whip Cream”
05 “Love Without Emotion”
06 “I’m A Man”
07 “(Won’t Tell You) My Sign”
08 “It’s Your Knees”
09 “Worldwide Marine Asset Financial Analyst”
10 “Have You Ever Been Furniture”
11 “Activia”
12 “Not Even Married”

Why Love Now is out 2/24/17 on Sub Pop.

Tags: Pissed Jeans