Xiu Xiu – “Wondering”

Xiu Xiu – “Wondering”

Xiu Xiu have kept busy over the last few years between their Twin Peaks soundtrack tribute, Merzbow collaboration, and The Magic Flute reinterpretation, but they haven’t released a proper full-length since 2014’s Angel Guts: Red Classroom (or that same year’s Unclouded Sky, if you want to get technical), so it comes as some welcome news that the noise-pop trio headed by Jamie Stewart have announced that they’ll put out a new LP called FORGET this February. “To forget uncontrollably embraces the duality of human frailty,” Stewart says of the album title. “It is a rebirth in blanked out renewal but it also drowns and mutilates our attempt to hold on to what is dear.”

It was co-produced by John Congleton, Deerhoof’s Greg Saunier, and the band’s own Angela Seo, and features guest spots from outsider artists Charlemagne Palestine, Enyce Smith, Vaginal Davis, and Swans guitarist Kristof Hahn. The band is framing the new album as their most pop-oriented one to date, and lead single “Wondering” pivots in that direction, a shadowy, squalling number that has enough of a throb to be regarded as a hook. Listen to it and get all the relevant album details below.

01 “The Call”
02 “Queen Of The Losers”
03 “Wondering”
04 “Get Up”
05 “Hay Choco Bananas”
06 “Jenny GoGo”
07 “At Last, At Last”
08 “Forget”
09 “Petite”
10 “Faith, Torn Apart”

FORGET is out 2/24 via Polyvinyl Records.

Xiu Xiu
CREDIT: Alex Brown

more from New Music

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?