Bruce Springsteen, Diana Ross Awarded Presidential Medal Of Freedom

Diana Ross and Bruce Springsteen were awarded the Presidential Medal Of Freedom today alongside 19 other recipients. It’s the highest honor a civilian in this country can receive, and the medals will be presented at the White House on 11/22. President Obama commented on the medal’s significance:

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is not just our nation’s highest civilian honor – it’s a tribute to the idea that all of us, no matter where we come from, have the opportunity to change this country for the better. From scientists, philanthropists, and public servants to activists, athletes, and artists, these 21 individuals have helped push America forward, inspiring millions of people around the world along the way.

The other recipients are: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Ellen DeGeneres, Robert De Niro, Frank Gehry, Bill and Melinda Gates, Tom Hanks, Michael Jordan, Robert Redford, Cicely Tyson, Vin Scully, Eduardo Padrón, Newt Minow, Lorne Michaels, Maya Lin, Grace Hopper, Margaret E. Hamilton, Richard Garwin, and Elouise Cobell. You can read more about this year’s award ceremony here.

I could make a joke about how atrocious Donald Trump’s picks will be a year from now, but honestly, I doubt I’ll ever be ready to joke about that person.