Here Are The 2017 Grammys Nominations

Here Are The 2017 Grammys Nominations

The Grammys announced their 2017 nominees this morning, with Grammy darling Meghan Trainor on CBS This Morning to unveil the big four categories: Album Of The Year, Song Of The Year, Record Of The Year, and Best New Artist. The rest of the nominees were announced online soon afterward.

Beyoncé leads the field with nine nominations, followed closely with eight each for Drake, Rihanna, and Kanye West. Adele has five nods, the late David Bowie four. Solange is nominated for the first time, as are Blink-182, Daya, Twenty One Pilots, Mike Will Made-It, Tycho, Demi Lovato, Kip Winger (for his classical album), and Parquet Courts (in the Best Recording Package category, but still).

With nominations for Best Pop Solo Performance, Best Rap/Sung Collaboration, Best Rock Performance, and Best Urban Contemporary Album, Bey becomes the first artist to be nominated in four genre categories in the same year.

The Best New Artist field pits Stereogum favorites Chance The Rapper and Anderson .Paak against the Chainsmokers and a pair of country singers, Maren Morris and Kelsea Ballerini. Sturgill Simpson is up for Album Of The Year against a quartet of pop megastars: Adele, Beyoncé, Justin Bieber, and Drake. And the Best Rock Performance category is weird enough to contain Alabama Shakes, Beyoncé Featuring Jack White, David Bowie, Disturbed, and Twenty One Pilots.

Album Of The Year
Adele – 25
Beyoncé – Lemonade
Justin Bieber – Purpose
Drake – Views
Sturgill Simpson – A Sailor’s Guide To Earth

Record Of The Year
Adele – “Hello”
Beyoncé – “Formation”
Lukas Graham – “7 Years Old”
Rihanna Featuring Drake – “Work”
Twenty One Pilots – “Stressed Out”

Song Of The Year
Adele – “Hello” (songwriters: Adele Adkins & Greg Kurstin)
Beyoncé – “Formation” (songwriters: Khalif Brown, Asheton Hogan, Beyoncé Knowles & Michael L. Williams II)
Justin Bieber – “Love Yourself” (songwriters: Justin Bieber, Benjamin Levin & Ed Sheeran)
Mike Posner – “I Took A Pill In Ibiza” (songwriter: Mike Posner)
Lukas Graham – “7 Years” (songwriters: Lukas Forchhammer, Stefan Forrest, Morten Pilegaard & Morten Ristorp)

Best New Artist
Kelsea Ballerini
The Chainsmokers
Chance The Rapper
Maren Morris
Anderson .Paak

Best Alternative Album
Bon Iver – 22, A Million
David Bowie – Blackstar
PJ Harvey – The Hope Six Demolition Project
Iggy Pop – Post Pop Depression
Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool

Best Rap Album
Chance The Rapper – Coloring Book
De La Soul – And The Anonymous Nobody
DJ Khaled – Major Key
Drake – Views
Schoolboy Q – Blank Face LP
Kanye West – The Life Of Pablo

Best Rock Performance
Alabama Shakes – “Joe” (Live From Austin City Limits)
Beyoncé Featuring Jack White – “Don’t Hurt Yourself”
David Bowie – “Blackstar”
Disturbed – “The Sound Of Silence” (Live On Conan)
Twenty One Pilots – “Heathens”

Best Rock Song
David Bowie – “Blackstar”
Radiohead – “Burn The Witch”
Metallica – “Hardwired”
Twenty One Pilots – “Heathens”
Highly Suspect – “My Name Is Human”

Best Recording Package
Rihanna – Anti
David Bowie – Blackstar
Parquet Courts – Human Performance
Reckless Kelly – Sunset Motel
Bon Iver – 22, A Million

Best Rap/Sung Performance
Beyoncé Featuring Kendrick Lamar – “Freedom”
Drake – “Hotline Bling”
D.R.A.M. Featuring Lil Yachty – “Broccoli”
Kanye West Featuring Chance The Rapper, Kelly Price, Kirk Franklin & The-Dream – “Ultralight Beam”
Kanye West Featuring Rihanna – “Famous”

Best Rap Song
Fat Joe & Remy Ma – “All The Way Up”
Kanye West Featuring Rihanna – “Famous”
Drake – “Hotline Bling”
Chance The Rapper Featuring 2 Chainz & Lil Wayne – “No Problem”
Kanye West Featuring Chance The Rapper, Kelly Price, Kirk Franklin & The-Dream – “Ultralight Beam”

Best R&B Performance
BJ The Chicago Kid – “Turnin’ Me Up”
Ro James – “Permission”
Musiq Soulchild – “I Do”
Rihanna – “Needed Me”
Solange – “Cranes In The Sky”

Best Pop Solo Performance
Adele – “Hello”
Beyoncé – “Hold Up”
Justin Bieber – “Love Yourself”
Kelly Clarkson – “Piece By Piece (Idol Version)”
Ariana Grande – “Dangerous Woman”

Best Pop Duo/Group Performance
The Chainsmokers Featuring Halsey – “Closer”
Lukas Graham – “7 Years”
Rihanna Featuring Drake – “Work”
Sia Featuring Sean Paul – “Cheap Thrills”
Twenty One Pilots – “Stressed Out”

Best Electronic Album
Flume – Skin
Jean-Michel Jarre – Electronica 1: The Time Machine
Tycho – Epoch
Underworld – Barbara Barbara, We Face A Shining Future
Louie Vega – Louie Vega Starring…XXVIII

Best Urban Contemporary Album
Beyoncé – Lemonade
Gallant – Ology
King – We Are King
Anderson .Paak – Malibu
Rihanna – Anti

Best Rock Album
Blink-182 – California
Cage The Elephant – Tell Me I’m Pretty
Gojira – Magma
Panic! At The Disco – Death Of A Bachelor
Weezer – Weezer

Best Score Soundtrack For Visual Media
Bridge Of Spies (Thomas Newman, composer)
Quentin Tarantino’s The Hateful Eight (Ennio Morricone, composer)
The Revenant (Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto, composers)
Star Wars: The Force Awakens (John Williams, composer)
Stranger Things Volume 1 (Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein, composers)
Stranger Things Volume 2 (Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein, composers)

Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media
Miles Ahead
Straight Outta Compton
Suicide Squad (Collector’s Edition)
Vinyl: The Essentials Season 1

    more from News

    Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

    As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?