Clap Your Hands Say Yeah – “Fireproof”

It’s been more than a decade since the phrase “Clap Your Hands Say Yeah” became synonymous with a sort of internet-borne buzz-band status. And while the band never became the iconic indie force that some predicted, frontman Alec Ounsworth has been soldiering on, cranking out these scraggly and personal albums largely on his own. Next month, he’ll follow up 2014’s Only Run with a new album called The Tourist. Ounsworth calls the new album “a purge of certain emotional confusion that manifested itself in the last several years.” And while he recorded his last album entirely on his own, this time he had the help of a bassist and drummer, as well as engineer Nick Krill and iconic indie producer Dave Fridmann, who mixed the album. Below, check out the album’s tracklist and listen to the pounding, synthy first single “Fireproof,” via NPR.

01 “The Pilot”
02 “A Chance To Cure”
03 “Down (Is Where I Want To Be)”
04 “Unfolding Above Celibate Moon (Los Angeles Nursery Rhyme)”
05 “Better Off”
06 “Fireproof”
07 “The Vanity Of Trying”
09 “Loose Ends”
09 “Ambulance Chaser”
10 “Visiting Hours”

The Tourist is out 2/24.