Kelly Lee Owens – “Anxi” (Feat. Jenny Hval)

Back in 2015, London producer Kelly Lee Owens released a throbbing rework of Jenny Hval’s “Kingsize,” a move which clearly defined both her influences and her own brooding techno aesthetic. Now Hval is featured on the lead single from Owens self-titled debut album, which is the follow-up to her thumping EP Oleic from last year. “Anxi” is as uncompromising as anything we’ve heard yet from Owens, proving her a worthy spiritual disciple to her featured vocalist. Yet musically you can also draw a comparison between the ominous flutter of “Anxi” and Hval’s own creeping soundscapes, which makes their pairing here seamless. It’s club music slowed to a crawl, with a melodic groove that Hval punctures with her drawl-delivered existential poetry. Listen below.


01 “S.O.”
02 “Arthur”
03 “Anxi” (Feat. Jenny Hval)
04 “Lucid”
05 “Evolution”
06 “Bird”
07 “Throwing Lines”
08 “CBM”
09 “Keep Walking”
10 “8”

Kelly Lee Owens is out 3/24 via Smalltown Supersound. Pre-order it here.