Thundercat – “Show You The Way” (Feat. Michael McDonald & Kenny Loggins)

Thundercat – “Show You The Way” (Feat. Michael McDonald & Kenny Loggins)

The Californian bass virtuoso Thundercat has helped out on so many people’s records lately that it’s been a little while since he put out an album of his own spaced-out soul-jazz. But next month, he’ll follow up 2015’s great mini-album The Beyond / Where The Giants Roam with a star-studded new LP called Drunk. The album’s list of contributors is just crazy: Kendrick Lamar, Pharrell, Flying Lotus, Kamasi Washington, Wiz Khalifa. And for lead single “Show You The Way,” Thundercat has teamed up with two titans of ’80s soft rock: Michael McDonald, formerly of the Doobie Brothers, and Kenny Loggins, formerly of the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band and Loggins And Messina. This guy got the guy who sang “Ya Mo B There” and the guy who sang “Danger Zone” — the two guys who co-wrote “What A Fool Believes” and “This Is It” — on the same song. Check it out below.

Talking about the song to Red Bull Music Academy, Thundercat says:

These are guys that I’ve listened to and where I felt that I’ve learned that honesty in the music. Kenny Loggins is one of my favorite songwriters.I think one of the most beautiful moments of it was realizing how amazing Michael McDonald was. He would go through so many ideas and have so much to offer…

That song, to me, is about going down the rabbit hole, taking you to another place… On the edge of dark, there’s the brightest light. It means a lot to me in the sense of… the experience that I’ve had growing up with friends and people that I’ve been around where it’s inviting them into where I come from emotionally. Sometimes it’s a pretty intense thing. The point is how weird things can get. I feel like it’s very funny that, in a way, of course Michael McDonald and Kenny would be there.

Here’s the album’s massive 23-song tracklist:

01 “Rabbot Ho”
02 “Captain Stupido”
03 “Uh Uh”
04 “Bus In These Streets”
05 “A Fan’s Mail (Tron Song Suite II)”
06 “Lava Lamp”
07 “Jethro”
08 “Day & Night”
09 “Show You The Way” (Feat. Michael McDonald & Kenny Loggins)
10 “Walk On By” (Feat. Kendrick Lamar)
11 “Blackkk”
12 “Tokyo”
13 “Jameel’s Space Ride”
14 “Friend Zone”
15 “Them Changes”
16 “Where I’m Going”
17 “Drink Dat” (feat. Wiz Khalifa)
18 “Inferno”
19 “I Am Crazy”
20 “3AM”
21 “Drunk”
22 “The Turn Down” (Feat. Pharrell)
23 “DUI”

Drunk is out 2/24 on Brainfeeder.

more from New Music

Hi. It looks like you're using an ad blocker.

As an independent website, we rely on our measly advertising income to keep the lights on. Our ads are not too obtrusive, promise. Would you please disable adblock?