Mac DeMarco – “This Old Dog” & “My Old Man”

Mac DeMarco has announced that he will release a new album, called This Old Dog, on 5/5, the follow-up to 2014’s Salad Days. The album was written and recorded while the musician was making the move from Queens to Los Angeles, and was primarily demoed on acoustic guitar. Here’s what he had to say about the new album in a press release:

I demoed a full album, and as I was moving to the West Coast I thought I’d get to finishing it quickly. But then I realized that moving to a new city, and starting a new life takes time. Usually I just write, record, and put it out; no problem. But this time, I wrote them and they sat. When that happens, you really get to know the songs. It was a different vibe. […] The majority of this album is acoustic guitar, synthesizer, some drum machine, and one song is electric guitar. So this is a new thing for me. […] This is my acoustic album, but it’s not really an acoustic album at all. That’s just what it feels like, mostly. I’m Italian, so I guess this is an Italian rock record.

To kick things off, DeMarco has shared two singles, “My Old Man” and “This Old Dog,” which also happen to serve as the album’s opening tracks. Listen to them and check out the tracklist below.

01 “My Old Man”
02 “This Old Dog”
03 “Baby You’re Out”
04 “For The First Time”
05 “One Another”
06 “Still Beating”
07 “Sister”
08 “Dreams From Yesterday”
09 “A Wolf Who Wears Sheeps Clothes”
10 “One More Love Song”
11 “On The Level”
12 “Moonlight On The River”
13 “Watching Him Fade Away”

This Old Dog is out 5/5 via Captured Tracks. Pre-order it here.

Tags: Mac DeMarco